A Women Empowerment Cell (WEC) is an institutional initiative aimed at promoting gender equality, empowering women, and creating a supportive environment for addressing issues related to women's rights and welfare. The primary objectives of a Women Empowerment Cell typically include

  • **Promoting Gender Equality:** The WEC works towards creating awareness about gender discrimination and strives to eliminate gender biases and stereotypes within the institution.
  • **Providing Support Services:** It offers support services such as counseling, legal aid, and guidance to women facing various challenges, including harassment, discrimination, and gender-based violence.
  • **Skill Development:** The WEC may organize workshops, seminars, and training programs to enhance the skills and capabilities of women students and staff members, enabling them to pursue their academic and professional goals effectively.
  • **Creating Awareness:** It conducts awareness campaigns and events to educate the campus community about women's rights, gender issues, and the importance of gender sensitivity.
  • **Preventing Sexual Harassment:** The WEC plays a crucial role in implementing policies and procedures to prevent and address instances of sexual harassment and misconduct within the institution, ensuring a safe and conducive environment for women.
  • **Advocacy and Networking:** It advocates for women's rights and represents their interests within the institution, as well as collaborates with external organizations and agencies working towards women's empowerment and gender equality.
  • Overall, a Women Empowerment Cell serves as a platform for fostering a culture of inclusivity, respect, and equal opportunities for women within educational institutions and workplaces.

Women Empowerment Committee Executives

1 Dr.M.Marimuthu Principal Chair Person
2 Mrs.P.Senbagam Assistant Professor, Science and Humanities Convenor
3 Ms.J.Theboral Assistant Professor, Agricultural Engineering Member
4 Mrs.A.Reeta Joldrine Assistant Professor, Computer Science and Engineering Member
5 Mrs.G.Pavithira Assistant Professor, Agricultural Engineering Member
6 Ms.Jayashree Assistant Professor, Science and Humanities Member